Skip to content

Play ball!

September 20, 2012

Recently, I’ve started using baseball metaphors when I’m out hunting for books to sell.

The absolute best, of course, is a home run.

For me, a “home run” is a book that (for example), I buy for $1.00, and can easily resell for $25.00 or more.

A “pop-up”, on the other hand, is a book that looks really good when I’m checking it on the Amazon mobile site on my smartphone – but when I get home and check the full site on my PC, it turns out there are twenty other editions of the same book, all selling for a penny.

So today I went to Pasadena, hitting several thrift stores and a wonderful bookstore called the Archives.

Usually I find a lot of “home runs” there – especially in the “Annex” in the back parking lot, where everything’s a buck.

But today – just a bunch of pop-ups.

Oh well. At least Pasadena was pretty. Some days, that’s enough.

Image

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

breathelighter

Reducing stress one exhale at a time ...exploring Southern California and beyond

C. Lehman, Bookseller

One woman's adventures in online bookselling - and buying

Illustration Friday

One woman's adventures in online bookselling - and buying

One woman's adventures in online bookselling - and buying

Mary Worth and Me

One woman's adventures in online bookselling - and buying

Kristian Strom, Bookseller

One woman's adventures in online bookselling - and buying

