Skip to content

Found: Amelia Earhart! (at least, a book by her)

August 29, 2012

For the past year, I worked as a “cubicle slave” in an office in downtown Los Angeles.

There were so many things I HATED about the job – but the main thing was commuting every day. It was just physically very demanding.

However, I did enjoy certain things about it – specifically, the artwork on the walls of the subway stations.

Here’s the one that motivated my book search:

Image

See it? “Last Flight”?

For months, as I trudged into and out of that subway station, I stopped and looked at that book. I had no idea it was a real book – I thought it was just something that was created for the mural.

But guess what? After I left, I visited a marvelous bookstore in Ojai, called “Bart’s Books”:

Image

And there – wayyy up high on a shelf in a room off the main part of the store – there it was:

Image

Welcome home, Amelia!

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

breathelighter

Reducing stress one exhale at a time ...exploring Southern California and beyond

C. Lehman, Bookseller

One woman's adventures in online bookselling - and buying

Illustration Friday

One woman's adventures in online bookselling - and buying

One woman's adventures in online bookselling - and buying

Mary Worth and Me

One woman's adventures in online bookselling - and buying

Kristian Strom, Bookseller

One woman's adventures in online bookselling - and buying

